PGA TOURLeaderboardWatch & ListenNewsFedExCupSchedulePlayersStatsFantasy & BettingSignature EventsComcast Business TOUR TOP 10Aon Better DecisionsDP World Tour Eligibility RankingsHow It WorksPGA TOUR TrainingTicketsShopPGA TOURPGA TOUR ChampionsKorn Ferry TourPGA TOUR AmericasLPGA TOURDP World TourPGA TOUR University
Nov 13, 2021

Adam Schenk incurs penalty after mistakenly picking up ball

1 Min Read

Ground Rules

Adam Schenk incurs penalty after mistakenly picking up ball
    Written by Sean Martin

    HOUSTON – Strange things can happen when a player is contending for his first PGA TOUR title. One example happened in the third round of the Hewlett Packard Enterprise Houston Open, when a member of Saturday’s second-to-last group incurred a one-shot penalty after mistakenly touching his ball.

    Adam Schenk’s last four rounds on the PGA TOUR had been played under lift, clean and place, but the rule was not in use Saturday. Thinking he could clean his ball, Schenk touched it while it lay on the fifth fairway before realizing his error. He was penalized one stroke for his violation of Rule 9.4 ("Ball Lifted or Moved by Player") and replaced his ball to its original spot.

    Schenk, who started the day four shots off the lead, made bogey on the hole en route to a 2-over 72. He will enter the final round in 10th place, three shots back of leader Scottie Scheffler.

    Lift, clean and place was used all last week at the World Wide Technology Championship at Mayakoba, where Schenk missed the cut, and during the first two rounds in Houston after heavy rains soaked Memorial Park on Thursday, delaying the opening round by two hours and requiring the second round to be completed Saturday morning.

    More News

    View All News

    R3
    In Progress

    Rocket Classic

    Powered By
    Sponsored by Mastercard
    Sponsored by CDW